If its Nappy Their Not Happy?????

Evening girlies and guys,

Well I just got back from seeing Good Hair. It was okay but with all the hype and the Oprah show I was expecting more. Here’s the trailer in case you haven’t seen it yet.

So like I was saying…. this movie did bring a lot of question to my mind. I didn’t want to seem like a nerd taking notes during the movie but I think I’m going to add a new feature posting a question of the week.

The movie did make me reconsider my sew-in seeing how Indian hair is obtained. The only thing I didn’t like was the limited representation of natural hair.

One scene where the girls in high school where talking about natural hair in the corporate world and the one girl with a fro didn’t get to say a word after they pretty much put her hair down. I think I want to start yet another feature for natural hair in the corporate world.

His research seemed limited to only perms and weaves but I think the issue of good hair is a lot deeper and has more history behind. I guess that was all the natural blogs are for.  Chris Rock was just a concerned father so I guess it was acceptable and good to hear a man’s point of view.

Overall the movie was funny. I may have just had too high expectations. I recommend you to check it out this weekend. Gotta support black movies. Surprisingly the theater was pretty empty.

If you saw the movie share your thoughts, concerns, likes, and dislikes!!!

BTYL,

Angelique

P.S.  I was supposed to be meeting up with some of the girls from Black Girl Long Hair…unfortunely I got there when the movie started and after I didn’t see anyone…except one of my fav youtubers….

P.P.S Here are some clips that had me rotfl….the tumble weave (I know you have seen them if you live in an urban area

Curly or not black women are all product junkies…

Weave or not somedays I don’t like people touching my hair..this clip also brought a lot of ideas and questions to mind

I didn’t know Ice T had a perm…this scene was hilarious makes me wonder why people like still do it

P.P.P.S  Okay I lied…GO SEE THIS MOVIE …these clips stopped right before the good parts. They even had the inventor of the Jeri Curl on and he sounded like those chemicals went right to his brain.I also heard a girl say she wanted to go natural after the movie!!!

One thought on “If its Nappy Their Not Happy?????

  1. I agree, I believe I had higher expectations also. Maybe because I so desperately want to have an open discussion in the black community about this..but, can we really leave it up to a brother to expose our dirty laundry?
    I am wondering how much of this is political, spiritual, self-determination or outright psyco-babble?
    visit my blog at http://kweliart.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

