Coconut Craziness…

Lately I have gone crazy with anything coconut. I use coconut oil almost everyday on my scalp and occasionally DT with coconut milk. Even one of my fav gels ORS Lock and Twist Gel  has coconut milk in it.

Coconut oil has been a HG product for centuries especially in countries like India. If you google the benefits of coconut oil the results will seem endless.

Coconut oil contains lauric and capric acids which have antimicrobial properties (aka keeping icky bacteria of your scalp) and high amounts of vitamin E. Coconut oil also locks in moisture in hair. It’s not easily broken down and results in super soft and strong hair. It also prevents breakage which also important in retaining length. Check out this article of coconut oil and hair growth.

Coconut oil is great for avoiding and treating dry, itchy scalps and dandruff because of the fatty acids. Some even use it for styling alone or to tame frizz. I used it today under my leave in for a twist out (stay tuned for the details and results).

The uses for coconut oil are endless. I use it as a scalp and hair oil, pre-poo, and under deep conditioners. I plan to use it alone as a deep conditioner with my heat cap.

You can also mix it with other oils like brahmi, amla, rosemary, and lavender for an invigorating scalp massage. My current mix consists of coconut oil, lavender oil, eucalyptus oil, and peppermint oil.

Coconut oil is one of the only oils that penetrate the scalp and protects it. Coconut oil is also good for heat styling!

Well I can go on and on about the benefits of coconut oil…. but hold your horses there is more.

Now for the kicker….hold on to your seats…..COCONUT MILK!!!!!!

The benefits are pretty much the same and is one of the best products you can use to spice up your deep conditioner. I used it alone last week soaking my hair in it, covering with a plastic cap, a little heat, then co-washed it out in the morning.  I didn’t notice anything immediately besides softness and moisturized hair but when I did my wash and go the area of my area that need a ton of scrunch was curling on its one. When I co-washed today the area help a curl and clumped with no product.

This week for my DT I have coconut milk, GVP Conditioning Balm, and EVOO mixed together. Its been sitting in the fridge so if this TNC doesn’t work out I will be trying this combo out.

I have done a post before on a homemade DC made with Avocado and Coconut Milk. It’s great when you are on a budget because its only a few dollars.

Well all of this coconut ranting has me needing to do a  part 2. It’s so much I haven’t even gotten too like recipes and product recommendations, but in the meantime check out these links.

http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/showthread.php?t=65618

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/1141756/how_to_make_your_own_natural_deep_conditioning_pg2.html?cat=69

http://www.organicfacts.net/organic-oils/organic-coconut-oil/coconut-oil-for-hair.html

Leave a Reply

